Looking back on 2011.

January 2, 2012

There were a lot of happenings, events, and memories last 2011 and I don’t even know where to start.

I was not able to pass my dream school, Ateneo. It was a drastic moment for me since I really work hard for it. Although it opened another opportunity for me to study in La Salle, one of the most prestigious schools here in the Philippines. La Salle gave me opportunities, experiences, and people that are worth keeping.

Graduation. It was time to bid farewell to my Alma Mater as well as to my high school friends and teachers. I was happy that a new chapter of my life was about to welcome me in a few months, but I was also a bit sad to say goodbye for a moment to my closest friends for they are the ones who were always there for me through my ups and downs. The good part is, I and my friends see to it to always keep in touch with each other through constant communication.

During my six months stay in La Salle, it was a mix of tragedy, happiness, hardwork, and pain for me. I learned who to be with and I became picky when it comes to selecting friends. It gave me the opportunity to know people with different kinds of personality, behavior, and attitude. I had a hard time studying Physics and Math since it wasn’t my forte to solve problems and compute numbers, and so I accepted failures during my stay. It was a chance for me to push myself beyond my comfort zone. It trained me to embrace failures for I know it was not there to stay in my life permanently, but it was a way for me to back up and do better.

It was my very first time to have a Chickenpox. I was immediately rushed to the ER in Medical City to checked if it was really Chickenpox that spread all over my body and the doctor gave us a positive response. I was not able to go to school for a week and that gave me a reason to miss lessons, seat works, quizzes, and other important things to do in school.

After a term, I was confined to the hospital for having severe Gastrointestinal problems. It was mistakenly thought as Appendicitis already, so I was advised by doctors to stay in the hospital for three days. It was a painful experience for me since I was not allowed to intake any solid foods, even to drink water. It was also my first time to experience having CT Scan. It was a wake up call for me to stay healthy.

Overall, 2011 gave me the opportunity  to encourage myself to do better in my academics, to make me realize that WE are in this relationship together. We should not let OTHERS be a hindrance in making our relationship better. It gave me an open mind to stop complaining and start understanding. It gave me a chance  to make big decisions. It gave me a lot of love, and a little pain. Thank you, 2011. You’ve been a year full of realizations.

One Response to “Looking back on 2011.”

  1. Lauran Eron Says:

    I agree with most of your points, but a few need to be discussed further, I will hold a small talk with my partners and maybe I will look for you some suggestion soon.


Leave a Reply

